This is a short one, folks. The title is pretty self-explanatory, so let’s cut to the chase. I’m just about packed and it’s starting to sink in just how few of my possessions will be accompanying me to the Orient. Unfortunately, I don’t think the piano is going to fit and most of my useful textbooks are probably too heavy. It’s time to make some of those painful decisions about what comes and what stays. Luckily, my apartment will be furnished which helps to cut down the weight a bit.

Monty.JPG
The cat definitely stays 😦

When I first got the job a few months back in November, I thought it seemed like ages away. I couldn’t wait for the time to pass! At Christmas it was only just on the horizon. Now it’s staring me down and I think it’s winning. I feel less prepared for emigration than I did for moving into university, and much less prepared than when I went to Japan the first time. I’m hoping it’s just nerves and not that I’ve actually forgotten something really important. On the bright side, I have a week of holiday before I start work, so I can probably sort out replacements of anything truly crucial in that time. I don’t have much of an idea what else I’ll be doing in that week, but trips to Kyoto and Kobe seem like strong contenders. Sadly, not being a tourist means I don’t qualify for a rail pass. The Shinkansen (Bullet Train) is probably outside my travel budget, so Limited Express trains it is. Still faster than UK trains, and certainly more *cough* reliable.

Suitcases Comparison.jpg
Emigration on the left, holiday on the right

I’m leaving for London today and flying out to Osaka a couple of days later. Jet lag is pretty terrible flying East and sleeping on long-haul flights is nearly impossible, so there’s something to look forward to. I arrive in the morning, so even with the very best intentions of exploration and sightseeing, I’m sure I’ll end up sleeping in the hotel room till the evening.

As always, you can follow me on Flickr, or look at my portfolio of best images on 500px.

 Top photo: Little Venice

