All travel blogs must (by the laws of nature) include plane food pictures, so here are mine. This first meal claims to be ‘sweet and sour pork’. I have to admit, I couldn’t taste the sweet or the sour. Or the pork. It wasn’t unpleasant exactly, more just devoid of any kind of strong flavour. The soba (そば) noodles in the top left, even when drenched in soy had no taste. The rice was overcooked and the sorry looking brown mess on the right was a portion of stir-fried vegetables. Ish. The textures, on the other hand, were pleasant and I’ve certainly had worse plane food. The kind of food that has a strong smell of old socks and somehow manages to stick to the roof of your mouth – an adhesive rivalling the powers of superglue.

Plane Food 1.jpg
Sweet and Sour Pork

After all the care airline companies take to avoid having peanuts on flights, they served a pretty decent carrot and walnut cake, but with absolutely no nut/allergy warning whatsoever. I could see out of the corner of my eye that the Japanese woman sitting next to me had no idea what it was, but was adventurous enough to try it. For the sake of Finnair, I am very glad that she and all the other brave non English-speaking diners were left unscathed. The water was a nice way to freshen up after the fairly dull meal.

Plane Food 2.jpg
Egg, Gruyère and Asparagus

The ‘light snack’ that was served for ‘breakfast’ just before we landed was simply titled ‘Egg, Gruyère and Asparagus’. It sounds fairly comprehensive, no? Not only did it omit the rather obvious unidentified meat (substitute?), but also the only thing that actually had any taste – the tomato sauce. The sauce was very sweet, but the taste of anything was quite welcome at this point, 7 and a half hours into the flight with an absolute maximum of 2 hours of sleep. I’ll draw your eyes back to the rather sad-looking pale oblong on the right. After eating it, I honestly couldn’t tell you if it was meat or some kind of substitute. It sort of tasted like sausage, but was smooth and soft, like tofu or Quorn. The omelette(?!) in the middle had a faint hint of cheese taste, the green sludge tasted fairly green, and the potatoes were recognisable. The yoghurt was actually the highlight of this meal, ‘puolukka-omena’ flavour, or lingonberry and apple. Delicious. Not being cooked and actually tasting of something seems to be a good trait – the cake, and now the yoghurt. The orange juice was pretty good too.

I’m afraid I couldn’t muster the strength to bring you photos of my first meal actually in the country, but I’ll pick up the slack when I’ve recovered, I promise! ‘Food in Japan’ will also feature as a blog series, sorted under the category ‘Food’. Also, bonus points to those of you who got the pun in the title.

As always, you can follow me on Flickr, or look at my portfolio of best images on 500px.

Top photo: Indoor Japanese Garden

